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Proposed Rulemakings____________________________   
▪ FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND 
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION 
proposed new Parts titled Credit 
Union Community Reinvestment (38 
IAC 185; 48 Ill Reg 621), Bank 
Community Reinvestment (38 IAC 
345; 48 Ill Reg 695) and Mortgage 
Community Reinvestment (38 IAC 
1055; 48 Ill Reg 765) and proposed an 
amendment to the Part titled Rules 
Governing the Request for 
Reconsideration of Examination 
Findings (38 IAC 385; 48 Ill Reg 759), all 
implementing Public Act 101-657, the 
Illinois Community Reinvestment Act 
(ILCRA). These proposed rules are 
similar, but not identical, to ILCRA 
implementation rules proposed by 
DFPR in 2022 but never adopted. They 
are intended to ensure that regulated 
financial institutions equitably provide 
financial services to individuals and 
businesses in low-income (less than 
50% of an area's median income) and 
moderate-income (50% to 80% of area 

median income) neighborhoods and in 
areas that lack access to safe and 
affordable banking/lending services.  
The new Parts apply to credit unions, 
banks, and Illinois-licensed mortgage 
lenders that originated or lent 50 or 
more mortgage loans in the previous 
calendar year and were responsible 
for underwriting or approving these 

loans.  The new Parts 185, 345 and 
1055 require DFPR to periodically 
evaluate how these credit unions, 
banks and mortgage lenders are 
performing with regard to community 
development, which includes 
activities that: support affordable 
housing; finance small businesses or 
farms with gross annual revenues of 
$1 million or less; revitalize or stabilize 
areas of high poverty or 
unemployment or disaster-stricken 
areas; mitigate environmental harm 

or encourage climate resilience in low-
income areas; or provide community 
services to low- and moderate-income 
persons.  Initial evaluations will begin 
6 months after these rules take effect 
and continue for the next 6 years, with 
larger institutions being evaluated 
first. All banks and mortgage 
licensees, and credit unions with $250 
million or more in assets, have 6 
months after adoption of these rules 
to come into compliance; smaller 
credit unions will have 1 year to 
comply. Activities DFPR will consider 
in its evaluations include the 
institution’s participation in qualified 
investments such as small business 
and farm loans; origination of 
mortgage, home improvement and 
rehabilitation loans that enable low- 
and moderate-income residents to 
maintain affordable housing; technical 
assistance to small businesses, farms 
and non-profits to help them establish  
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THE FLINN REPORT 

ADOPTED RULES: Rules adopted by agencies this week. EMERGENCY RULES: Temporary rules adopted for no more than 150 days.  
PROPOSED RULEMAKINGS: Rules proposed by agencies this week, commencing a First Notice public comment period of at least 45 days. 
PEREMPTORY RULES: Rules adopted without prior public notice or JCAR review as authorized by 5 ILCS 100/5-50.  
▪ - Designates rules of special interest to small businesses, small municipalities and/or non-profit organizations. Agencies must consider 
comments from these groups and attempt to minimize regulatory burdens on them.  
QUESTIONS/COMMENTS: Submit mail, e-mail or phone calls to the agency personnel listed below each summary.  
RULE TEXT: First Notice proposed text, emergency rule and peremptory rule text is available at the Secretary of State website 
(https://www.ilsos.gov/departments/index/register/home.html) or at the Illinois General Assembly website (http://www.ilga.gov) under “Illinois 
Register”. Second Notice text for proposed rulemakings (original version with any changes made by the agency during First Notice included) is 
available at the JCAR website.  
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Proposed 
Rulemakings 
(cont. from page 1) 
 
creditworthiness; contributions to 
private, non-profit community 
development or improvement 
organizations; contributions to 
disaster relief or recovery efforts in 
any part of the State; provision of low-
cost education loans to low-income 
borrowers; marketing and outreach to 
unbanked individuals (who have no 
savings or checking accounts with 
depository institutions) and 
underbanked individuals (who have 
such accounts but have resorted to 
financial services from other entities, 
such as installment/payday lenders); 
and activities in cooperation with 
minority- and women-owned financial 
institutions. Performance standards 
for small banks and credit unions, 
limited or special purpose institutions 
(banks and credit unions that provide 
only certain services, e.g., vehicle 
loans or credit cards) and other 

institutions are outlined, along with 
the data and reports that each 
institution must provide. Banks and 
credit unions may choose to have 
loans made by their affiliates or by 
consortiums in which they participate 
considered in the evaluation process. 
After completing an evaluation, DFPR 
will assign each institution a rating of 
outstanding, satisfactory, needs to 
improve, or substantial 
noncompliance. The institution must 
provide public notice of this rating and 
the results of the evaluation. 
Reevaluations will be conducted at 
intervals of 3-5 years for institutions 
rated outstanding or satisfactory, 2 
years for those rated as needs to 
improve, and 1 year for those rated in 
substantial noncompliance. The 
performance record of the institution 
will be taken into account whenever 
DFPR considers an application to 
establish or relocate a main office or 
branch, or to renew or reorganize that 
institution. Finally, the amendment to 
Part 385 adds savings banks to the 
definition of a regulated financial 
institution and includes the ILCRA 

ratings assigned to State banks in the 
definition of a material supervisory 
determination. Those affected by 
these rulemakings include credit 
unions, banks, mortgage lenders, and 
small businesses or non-profits that 
use or seek their services.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments on the 4 DFPR 
rulemakings through 2/26/24: Craig 
Cellini, DFPR, 320 W. Washington St., 
2nd Floor, Springfield IL  62786, 217-
785-0810, fax 217-557-4451. 
 
HOSPITALS 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE 
AND FAMILY SERVICES proposed an 
amendment to Hospital Services (89 
IAC 148; 48 Ill Reg 799) that aligns the 
annual effective dates for Medicaid 
High Volume Adjustment Payments 
with the Medicaid percentage 
determination year as established in 
Sec. 140.122. (That Section was 
recently amended to move the start  
 

(cont. page 3) 

Emergency Rule 
 
▪ IMMIGRANT HEALTHCARE  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE AND FAMILY SERVICES adopted emergency amendments to Special Eligibility 
Groups (89 IAC 118; 48 Ill Reg 988) effective 1/1/24, modifying emergency rules that were effective 11/13/23 for the 
remainder of their 150-day term. (Companion proposed amendments were published in the 6/30/23 Illinois Register 
at 47 Ill Reg 8994.) The emergency amendments reinstate provisions from the proposed rulemaking and a previous 
emergency rule concerning the Health Benefits for Immigrant Adults (HBIA) and Health Benefits for Immigrant Seniors 
(HBIS) programs, which provide medical assistance to noncitizens ages 42-64 (HBIA) and 65 or older (HBIS) who meet 
income criteria and do not qualify for federally matched medical assistance. The emergency amendment allows 
healthcare providers to charge copayments of up to $250 per stay for inpatient hospitalizations, up to $100 for 
hospital emergency visits, and up to 10% of the rates established under the Veterans’ Health Care Program for 
outpatient services received by HBIA/HBIS enrollees at hospitals or ambulatory surgical treatment centers, unless any 
of these services meet HFS’ criteria for emergency medical treatment (which qualifies for federal matching funds) or 
are otherwise covered under HFS rules without a copayment.  Providers are responsible for collecting copayments 
and may charge no copayment or a lesser copayment than the maximum permitted under this rule. Healthcare 
providers who serve HBIA or HBIS recipients are affected.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Steffanie Garrett, HFS, 201 S. Grand Ave. East, 3rd Floor, Springfield IL 62763-0002, 217-
782-1233, HFS.Rules@illinois.gov 
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Proposed 
Rulemakings 

(cont. from page 2) 
 
date for Medicaid percentage 
determination years from October 1 
to January 1.)  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 2/26/24: 
Steffanie Garrett, HFS, 201 S. Grand 
Ave. East, 3rd Floor, Springfield IL 
62763-0002, 217-782-1233, 
HFS.Rules@illinois.gov 
 
 

IMDC PUBLIC INFORMATION  
 
The ILLINOIS MEDICAL DISTRICT 
COMMISSION proposed amendments 
to the Part titled Public Information 
and Organization (2 IAC 2525; 48 Ill 
Reg 811) updating procedures for 
Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) 
requests seeking public information or 
records of the Commission. The 
rulemaking aligns the Part with the 
current FOIA, updates the 
Commission’s contact information, 
allows IMDC to provide electronic 
copies of records by e-mail, and 
updates the appeal procedure for 
FOIA request denials (which are now 
directed to the Public Access 

Counselor in the Office of the Attorney 
General).  Other provisions update 
IMDC procedures and the duties of its 
officers; move the annual Commission 
meeting to May or June (currently, 
November or December); and allow 
meetings by telephone or video 
conference in accordance with the 
Open Meetings Act.  
 
Questions/requests for 
copies/comments through 2/26/24: 
Gina Oka, IMDC, 2100 W. Harrison St., 
Chicago IL 60612, 312-738-5851, 
goka@medicaldistrict.org  
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Adopted Rules_____________________________________ 
▪ LIBRARY POLICIES 
 
The SECRETARY OF STATE adopted 
amendments to Illinois State Library 
Grant Programs (23 IAC 3035; 
proposed at 47 Ill Reg 13038) effective 
1/1/24 at 48 Ill Reg 948, implementing 
Public Act 103-100. The PA and this 
rulemaking require public libraries, 
school district libraries, veterans' 
home libraries and library systems, as 
a condition of receiving State per 
capita, construction, equalization aid, 
technology, or Talking Book and 
Braille Service grants on and after 
1/1/24, to adopt policies against 
removal or censorship of library 
materials based on disapproval from 
individuals or groups. In order to 
qualify for these grants, applicant 
entities must adopt either the 
American Library Association's Bill of 
Rights indicating that "material should 
not be proscribed or removed because 
of partisan or doctrinal disapproval", 
or a written policy adopted by the 
library board of trustees indicating 
that the library will "protect the 
intellectual freedom of the library user 
and shall prevent censorship of its 
library materials, ensuring that items 
are not withdrawn from its library 
collection merely because individuals 
or groups object to the material." For 
all grants made on or after 1/1/24, 
applicant libraries and library systems 
must, upon request of the State 
Librarian, provide the Illinois State 
Library with a record of any final 
decision for reconsideration of library 
materials during the term of the grant 
award. A grant recipient that does not 
maintain and abide by either the ALA 
Bill of Rights or a written policy 
declaring its "inherent authority to 
include a prohibition on the practice of 
banning specific books or resources" 
shall have its grant award revoked. 
Public libraries, library systems, and 
school district libraries that apply for 
State grants are affected.  

Questions/requests for copies: Pamela 
Wright, SOS, 298 Howlett Bldg., 
Springfield IL 62756, 217-785-3094, 
pwright@ilsos.gov  
 
FOID CARDS  
 
The ILLINOIS STATE POLICE adopted 
an amendment to the Part titled 
Firearm Owner's Identification Card 
Act (20 IAC 1230; proposed at 47 Ill 
Reg 4388) effective 12/29/23 at 48 Ill 
Reg 981, clarifying various aspects of 
the Firearm Owner's Identification 
Card (FOID) application process. The 
amendments clarify that all FOID 
applications must be made 
electronically unless a religious or 
disability exemption applies; that 
information required on a FOID 
application includes, but is not limited 
to, information required under 
Section 4 of the FOID Act; replaces the 
term "processing fee" with 
"convenience fee"; and clarifies the 
process for submitting fingerprints to 
ISP. Since 1st Notice, ISP removed a 
proposed new Section outlining a 
process for law enforcement agencies 
to electronically submit FOID 
applications to ISP.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: 
Suzanne Bond, ISP, 801 S. Seventh St., 
Suite 1000-S, Springfield IL  62703, 
217-782-7658. 
 
▪ REAL ESTATE  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF FINANCIAL AND 
PROFESSIONAL REGULATION adopted 
amendments to the Part titled Real 
Estate License Act of 2000 (68 IAC 
1450; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 13429) 
effective 1/1/24 at 48 Ill Reg 851, 
increasing licensing fees for real estate 
brokers and agents and licensing 
education course providers. For 
residential leasing agent licenses, the 
initial fee is $100 (formerly $75) and 
the renewal fee is $150 per renewal 

cycle (formerly, $50 per year). Broker 
licenses are increasing from $125 to 
$150 for an initial license and from $75 
per year to $200 per renewal cycle for 
renewals. The fee to transfer from a 
managing broker to a broker license is 
increasing from $125 to $150.  For real 
estate auction certification, the initial 
licensing fee remains unchanged at 
$125 but renewal fees are increasing 
from $150 per year to $300 per 
renewal. Licensing fees are also being 
increased for corporations, 
partnerships, and limited liability 
corporations/partnerships; education 
providers and pre- and post-licensing 
courses; and continuing education 
providers and course licenses.  Real 
estate agents, brokers, and licensing 
instructors are affected.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Craig 
Cellini, DFPR, 320 W. Washington St. 
2nd Fl., Springfield IL 62786, 217-785-
0810, fax 217-557-4451, 
Craig.Cellini@illinois.gov  
 
▪ AUTISM SERVICES 
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HEALTHCARE 
AND FAMILY SERVICES adopted 
amendments to Medical Payment (89 
IAC 140; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 315) 
effective 12/27/23 at 48 Ill Reg 864, 
implementing Public Act 101-10, 
which mandates coverage of 
treatment for autism spectrum 
disorders on and after 2/1/22. The 
rulemaking authorizes payment for 
Adaptive Behavior Support (ABS) 
services provided by Behavioral 
Health Clinics or independent ABS 
clinicians, who may include Board 
Certified Behavior Analysts, Licensed 
Clinical Psychologists, Licensed Clinical 
Professional Counselors, Licensed 
Clinical Social Workers, Licensed 
Marriage and Family Therapists, 
licensed Occupational Therapists, or  
 

(cont. page 5) 
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Adopted Rules 

(cont. from page 4) 
 
licensed Speech-Language 
Pathologists. ABS services may also be 
provided by ABS technicians working 
under the supervision of an ABS 
clinician.  A new Section lists covered 
ABS services (which may be subject to 
prior authorization) that include 
Behavior Assessment and Treatment 
Planning (on at least a semi-annual 
basis) and Behavior Analysis 
Intervention, which includes Applied 
Behavior Analysis (ABA) and ABA 
coaching or training for 
parents/caregivers. Services not 
covered under this Section include 
comprehensive diagnostic evaluation; 
any activities or interventions that 
involve restraint or seclusion; 
psychiatric/mental health 
assessments and therapies intended 
to address other behavioral health 
needs; activities that are solely 
educational, social or recreational; 
and services provided under an 
Individualized Family Service Plan or 
Individualized Education Plan. Since 1st 
Notice, HFS has removed proposed 
age limits for coverage of certain ABA 
services; clarified the categories of 
professionals who may serve as ABS 
clinicians; and clarified which 
professionals may supervise an ABS 
technician. Providers of ABS or ABA 
services are affected.  
 
MENTAL HEALTH FACILITIES 
 
HFS also adopted an amendment to 
Specialized Health Care Delivery 
Systems (89 IAC 146; proposed at 47 Ill 
Reg 11994) effecƟve 12/27/23 at 48 Ill 
Reg 895, implemenƟng PAs  101-10 
and 102-699. The PAs and this 
rulemaking increase payment rates to 
Specialized Mental Health 
Rehabilitation Facilities (SMHRFs) by 
5%; increase an add-on payment for 
certain single occupancy rooms from 
$10 to $15 per day; and establish a 

new $10 per day add-on for certain 
double occupancy rooms.  The add-on 
payments will not apply to days when 
the room occupant is on a leave of 
absence. Providers that had 3 or more 
licensed beds in at least half of their 
facility rooms prior to 11/1/22 but 
have since reduced all rooms to no 
more than 2 licensed beds will receive 
a $32 add-on to their facility rates. 
Specialized mental health 
rehabilitation facilities are affected by 
this rulemaking.  
 
Questions/requests for copies of the 2 
HFS rulemakings: Steffanie Garrett, 
HFS, 201 S. Grand Ave. East, 3rd Floor, 
Springfield IL  62763-0002, 
HFS.Rules@illinois.gov 
 
▪ MENTAL HEALTH  
 
The DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN 
SERVICES adopted a new Part titled 
Recovery and Mental Health Tax 
Credit (59 IAC 130; proposed at 47 Ill 
Reg 13443) effective 12/29/23 at 48 Ill 
Reg 903, implementing the Recovery 
and Mental Health Tax Credit Act [35 
ILCS 50]. The Act provides income tax 
credits to qualified employers who 
hire, on or after 1/1/23, individuals 
diagnosed with mental illness and/or 
substance use disorder that are in "a 
state of wellness and recovery". An 
eligible individual is in a state of 
wellness and recovery when signs and 
symptoms of active substance use 
disorder or mental illness have abated 
and the individual is currently 
undergoing or has completed 
treatment for the disorder or illness. 
In order to qualify for the credit ($1 for 
each hour an eligible individual works 
during the calendar year for which it is 
claimed, up to a maximum of $2,000 
per eligible individual), an employer 
must receive a certificate from DHS 
verifying that it provides "a recovery 
supportive environment"; has a 
formal working relationship with a 
mental health provider/facility or 
substance use disorder treatment 

provider; provides reasonable 
accommodation to employees with 
mental illness or substance use 
disorder at no cost to the individual; 
and meets all other criteria 
established by DHS. An employer may 
determine an employee's recovery 
status for purposes of this credit only 
after the employee has been hired, 
and the employee's disclosure of their 
status must be entirely voluntary. 
Employers must apply for the credit 
annually, although they do not have to 
resubmit documentation of a 
recovery-supportive environment 
once that has been established. 
Evidence of a recovery supportive 
environment can include a 
documented training program for 
management and human resources 
personnel on supporting employees in 
recovery; engagement in community-
based prevention or recovery-focused 
activities at least once a year; or 
certification as a recovery supportive 
workplace by a non-profit, third-party 
recovery organization.  An eligible 
employee must work for the employer 
at least 500 hours per calendar year. 
Documentation of an employee's 
recovery must be maintained 
confidentially by the employer and 
may be requested by DHS for audit 
purposes. Applications for credits will 
be received between 1/1 and 3/1 
annually and will apply to taxes paid 
for that calendar year. The certificate 
verifying eligibility for the credit must 
be attached to the employer's income 
tax return submitted to the 
Department of Revenue. The credit 
cannot reduce the taxpaying 
employer's liability to less than zero 
and the total credits awarded by DHS 
per year cannot exceed $2 million. 
Since 1st Notice, DHS has clarified the 
definition of a newly hired employee 
and also clarified confidentiality 
requirements. Businesses that hire 
eligible individuals are affected by this 
rulemaking.  
 

(cont. page 6) 
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Adopted Rules 

(cont. from page 5) 
 
VACCINE MANDATE REPEAL 
 
DHS also adopted amendments to the 
Parts titled Medicaid Community 
Mental Health Services Program (59 
IAC 132; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 12626), 
Alcoholism and Substance Abuse 
Treatment and Intervention Licenses 
(77 IAC 2060; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 
12628), Illinois Center for 
Rehabilitation and Education 
Community Services for the Blind, 
Visually Impaired and Deafblind (89 
IAC 730; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 12630) 
and Role of Residential Educational 
Facilities Operated by the Illinois 
Department of Human Services (89 
IAC 750; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 12638), 
all effective 12/29/23 at 48 Ill Reg 918, 
926, 935, and 943.  The 59 IAC 132 and 
77 IAC 2060 rulemakings replace 
emergency rules that were effective 
8/11/23. These rulemakings repeal 
COVID-19 vaccination and testing 
requirements for staff at DHS-funded 
or certified community mental health 
programs and substance abuse 

treatment programs; the Illinois 
Center for Rehabilitation and 
Education-Wood in Chicago; and the 
Illinois Schools for the Deaf and 
Visually Impaired in Jacksonville.  
 
Questions/requests for copies of the 5 
DHS rulemakings: Tracie Drew, DHS, 
100 S. Grand Ave. East, 3rd Fl., 
Springfield IL 62762, 217-785-9772, 
DHS.AdministrativeRules@illinois.gov  
 
▪ ELEVATOR SAFETY  
 
The ELEVATOR SAFETY REVIEW 
BOARD adopted amendments to 
Illinois Elevator Safety Rules (41 IAC 
1000; proposed at 47 Ill Reg 6388) 
effective 12/28/23 at 48 Ill Reg 825, 
implementing Public Act 102-715 and 
updating or clarifying various 
provisions. The rulemaking extends by 
1 year (to 1/1/24 for traction elevators 
and 12/31/24 for hydraulic elevators) 
the deadlines for testing initiating 
devices enabling use of an elevator by 
firefighters in an emergency and 
clarifies when firefighter's emergency 
operation devices must be upgraded. 
It also clarifies that while the Part does 
not apply to a municipality with a 

population of more than 500,000, it 
does apply to any State-owned 
buildings within that municipality; it 
also clarifies the types of lifting 
equipment that are not subject to the 
Part (e.g., conveyors, cranes, material 
hoists). Temporary inspection and 
operation of elevators may be 
permitted by local authorities only for 
use in construction or demolition to 
transport personnel, tools and 
materials; the Office of the State Fire 
Marshal will no longer issue 
temporary operation certificates. The 
rulemaking also updates the Board's 
Chicago address. Businesses and 
municipalities that use or inspect 
elevators and small businesses that 
perform elevator installation or repair 
are affected.  
 
Questions/requests for copies: Nancy 
Robinson, Office of the State Fire 
Marshal, 1035 Stevenson Drive, 
Springfield IL  62703, 217-785-7629, 
fax 217-524-5487. 
 
 
 
 
 

  
 

 
Next JCAR Meeting: Tuesday, Jan. 16, 10:30 a.m.  

Room C-1, Stratton Bldg., 401 S. Spring St., Springfield 
Meeting will be live streamed on the JCAR website 
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